Traffic School Information – California
Once every 18 months, you are allowed to complete an eight-hour traffic school course online.
A successful completion:
- Wipes out your traffic ticket
- Removes points from your driver’s license record
By completing this school, there is a good chance that your insurance company will never know about the ticket. As a result, your rates will not increase.
Pay Your Ticket Fine Prior to Attending Traffic School
Just because you go to traffic school does not mean that you are not responsible for paying the fine on your ticket. Prior to enrolling in traffic school, be sure that all fines are paid to the court. Otherwise, you would be ineligible.
Traffic School Eligibility
Pursuant to Vehicle Code (VC) Section 42005 and California Rules of Court Rule 4.104, court clerks are only authorized to grant requests for traffic school if the following criteria are met:
- You possess a valid California driver’s license.
- The violation(s) on the ticket must be an eligible Vehicle Code infraction. Violations that carry more than one Negligent Operator points under VC 12810 or one and a half points or greater under VC 12810.5(b) are not eligible. In addition, certain violations, such as mechanical and/or equipment failure, no insurance, and no seatbelt, are ineligible.
- You cannot have attended traffic school for a prior violation committed within the past 18 months. Remember, the 18-month eligibility period is determined from violation date to violation date as opposed to the date when you attended traffic school.
- If you were cited for speeding, the excessive speed cannot be more than 25 mph over the posted speed limit.
- The citation or ticket cannot have defaulted to a Failure to Appear (FTA) unless the charge was adjudicated and any imposed fine or civil assessment was paid.
- Your citation or ticket cannot be for a violation of Vehicle Code (VC) 22406.5 (tank vehicles).
- Your citation or ticket cannot be related to any alcohol or drug use/possession. If you were issued a ticket for driving with a Class A, B, or Commercial C driver’s license on or after Jan. 1, 2013, and you were not driving a commercial vehicle at the time of the citation, you can attend traffic court. Even though the DMV will not assess the point count on your record, the conviction will not be held as “confidential.” For that reason, your insurance could be impacted.
However, if you attend the traffic violator program, one conviction within an 18-month period will be held in confidence. Therefore, it will not show up on your record with the DMV nor will your insurance be affected.
Situations That Prohibit You from Attending Traffic School
- The judge denies the request to attend traffic school.
- You were cited for speeding with a speed of more than 25 mph over the posted speed limit.
- You have a commercial driver’s license and were driving a commercial vehicle.
- You were charged with a misdemeanor, such as a hit and run or DUI.
If you carry a commercial driver’s license, you may be eligible to attend traffic school if you were cited on or after Jan. 1, 2013, and were not driving a commercial vehicle at the time.
If you hold a commercial driver’s license and successfully complete traffic school:
- The conviction will be reported to the DMV but with no point added to your record.
- The DMV will not hide the conviction. Therefore, it will appear on your record and could impact your insurance coverage and rate.
In Los Angeles County, We Can Help
For help with tickets as they pertain to traffic school or for any other reason, call us at 844-999-9987 for a free legal consultation.