Stop Sign Tickets
If you are like most Californians you are familiar with what a California Stop or what is also known a “rolling stop”. Either you or someone you know have gotten a stop signs citation. If you failed to stop at the stop sign for more then two seconds. If you “rolled through the stop sign” and were stopped by an officer you have violated California Vehicle Code 21450.
California Defines a Stop under California Vehicle Code
(a) The driver of any vehicle approaching a stop sign at the entrance to, or within, an intersection shall stop at a limit line, if marked, otherwise before entering the crosswalk on the near side of the intersection. If there is no limit line or crosswalk, the driver shall stop at the entrance to the intersecting roadway.
(b) The driver of a vehicle approaching a stop sign at a railroad grade crossing shall stop at a limit line, if marked, otherwise before crossing the first track or entrance to the railroad grade crossing.
(c) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a local authority may adopt rules and regulations by ordinance or resolution providing for the placement of a stop sign at any location on a highway under its jurisdiction where the stop sign would enhance traffic safety.
The “rolling stop,” also known as a “California stop,” has become well known in the State of California. This minor mistake can become a major financial responsibility. A Stop Sign violation could quickly exceed $250 in fines and penalty assessments that come initially from the Court, then from a collection agency hired by the Court, and finally from the DMV. A Stop Sign violation is also classified as a moving violation and most moving violations will immediately place a single point on the driver’s license, upon conviction.
Each point that is placed on a record for a traffic violation will last for 3 to 4 years. For drivers that are eligible, there may be the option to head to traffic school to keep this point off of their record, but traffic school means extra time and expense. Drivers that are not given this option will have the point placed on their record and their insurance premiums increased.
Our experienced lawyers at Traffic Clinic have worked with many clients, helping them avoid both points and the traffic school requirement for stop sign violations. We understand the exact methods that can be used to fight stop sign tickets and keep these moving violations off of their records.
Call us for at 844-999-9987 for Free Consultation on your case and let one of our experienced Traffic Attorneys at Traffic Clinic assist you.