Consequences of Vehicle Code (VC) 22348(b)
The charge of driving over 100 miles per hour in the state of California is very serious. Potentially, you could face:
- A fine up to $500 (first offense)
- Suspended license for 30 days (first offense)
- Two points added to your driver’s license record
Understanding the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) Point System
If you receive any of the following, the DMV will work to suspend your license for a period of six months as a negligent operator (driver with excessive points):
- Four points in a single year
- Six points in a two-year period
- Eight points in three years
Mandatory Appearance in Court
When you receive a ticket for driving over 100 miles per hour in the state of California, VC 22348(b), there is a mandatory court appearance, whether by you or an attorney working on your behalf.
Driving Traffic School
Unfortunately, there is no option for driving school for this particular traffic violation.
Fines Associated with Driving More Than 100 Miles per Hour
- Maximum fine of $500 (first offense)
- Maximum fine of $750 (second offense within three years)
- Maximum fine of $1,000 (if convicted of two or more prior offenses within five years)
Ticket for Driving 100 Miles per Hour versus Speeding
Speeding Ticket (Under 100 Miles per Hour) – Lower FinesOne point added to your driver’s license record No mandatory court appearance License cannot be suspended Eligible for traffic school (if not driving more than 25 miles per hour over the posted speed limit) Fines are generally lower
Details pertaining to current California law can be found here.
Traffic Clinic – We Can Help
We will attend your hearing on your behalf. To speak directly with a Traffic Clinic traffic ticket attorney at no charge, please contact us at 844-999-9987 to discuss all your options.
- Points on Your License and the California DMV
Call us for at 844-999-9987 for Free Consultation on your case and let one of our experienced Traffic Attorneys at Traffic Clinic assist you.