DUI – Los Angeles DUI Attorney
Actions After Being Arrested for DUI in Los Angeles County
DUI – Driving Under the Influence (alcohol or drugs)
- You have just 10 days to contact the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to request a DMV hearing after being arrested for a DUI.
- You need to educate yourself about a DUI and learn your rights.
- You need to obtain and review a copy of the police report.
- You need to know what your options are in court so that you can decide the best way to resolve your DUI case.
If you need assistance with a DUI in Los Angeles County, call us at 424-337-4005 for a free legal consultation. We can help with all of your DUI problems.
DUI Attorney 844-999-9987We are open 8:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. We offer free legal consultations. You can speak directly with a Los Angeles DUI attorney. Se Habla Español
DUI and Your Driver’s LicenseTypically, on a first-time DUI, you will face a one-month suspension of your driver’s license. After that, you can apply for a five-month restricted license.
Restricted Driver’s License
For a first-time DUI offense, you can often get a restricted driver’s license after a 30-day suspension of your standard license if you:
- Enroll in a first-time offender DUI class
- File an SR-33 form (proof of insurance) with the DMV
- Pay a reissue fee to the DMV
For a second-time DUI offense within 10 years of the first offense, you will face a one-year suspension of your driving privileges. In this case, you cannot request a restricted license during that suspension period.
For more information about DUI and restricted licenses, visit our DUI website.
Potential Jail Time
For a first-time DUI, you do not face any time in jail unless there are aggravating circumstances surrounding your case. You can visit our DUI website to learn more about an aggravated DUI. If you are facing jail time for a DUI, our law firm has a proven record of obtaining alternatives that will keep you out of the Los Angeles County jail. To learn about DUI jail time, visit our DUI website.
Younger Than Age 21 — Drinking and Driving
Zero Tolerance Law
California has a zero tolerance law for anyone under the age of 21 who is caught driving with any alcohol in the system. The DMV will suspend your driver’s license for one year for a breath or blood test that yields results of 0.01, 0.02, 0.03, 0.04, 0.05, 0.06, 0.07, and 0.08, or higher. In this case, all you can do is apply for a critical need restricted license with the DMV. With that type of driver’s license, you can drive, but only to and from work and school. For advice pertaining to this situation, call us at 844-999-9987.
You can also learn what to do if your vehicle is impounded.
Suspended License Due to a DUI – Vehicle Code (VC) 14601.2
If you were arrested for a DUI but then caught driving while your license was suspended, and you were issued a violation of Vehicle Code (VC) 14601.2, which is driving on a suspended license due to a DUI, you are facing some very serious charges and consequences.
- Spend 10 days in jail
- $1,000 fine
- Have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle’s steering wheel
- Have two points added to your license record
For this scenario, it is imperative that you do everything possible to avoid stiff punishment and get your driver’s license reinstated.
Los Angeles DUI Attorney – We Can Help
Start by getting informed through our website at www.dui-california-arrest.com. Then, contact us at 844-999-9987 to speak directly to a reputable Los Angeles DUI attorney so that we can discuss your case.