Getting Four Points on Your License Equates to a Six-Month Suspension
Getting three or four traffic tickets in a year is not uncommon. Most people simply pay the fine. However, that number of tickets leads to having four points added to your driver’s license record. To avoid costly fines and points, you can fight back in court or attend traffic school.
If the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) discovers that you have four points on your license, a letter will be generated that indicates the intention of suspending your driving privileges for six months.
Getting Points on Your License
If you receive a traffic ticket for a moving violation, which consists of you being the driver of a vehicle in motion, the DMV can add two points to your record. On the other hand, no points are added to your record for non-moving violations, such as parking ticket, paperwork violation, tinted windows, broken lights, and so on. While you can be ticketed for talking on a cellphone while driving, this violation does not lead to points being added to your license.
Other potential consequences include:
In the event of a hit and run, DUI, driving while on a suspended license, or going over 100 miles per hour, two points will be added.
If you are in an accident and are the at-fault driver, the DMV will add one point to your record.
If the California DMV discovers that you have an out-of-state ticket, it will add one point for this, as well.
For more information, you can look at Points on Your License.
Attending Traffic School
You can attend what is known as First Offender Traffic School. By doing so, the DMV will remove points from your driver’s license record. This special school is offered every 18 months, with the eligibility period being determined from the date of one violation to another as opposed to when you attended school. To find a First Offender Traffic School near you, simply conduct research online.
At one time, people who finished the First Offender Traffic School but were issued a second ticket within an 18-month period had the option of attending a second-time offender traffic school or completing a 12-hour course in person. However, under new California legislature, the courts no longer have the authority to offer either option.
For first-time offenders, traffic school is a viable solution.
Driving While Suspended
You can learn more about the dangers of driving while suspended and the appropriate steps to take should your vehicle be impounded.
For Traffic Ticket Issues in Los Angeles County, We Can Help
Once you have a suspended driver’s license, you can do the following:
- Determine the problems by contacting the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
- Do everything possible to have your driver’s license reinstated as quickly as possible.
- Contact us so that one of our qualified attorneys can go to court for you to clear up any Failure to Appear (FTA) or Failure to Pay (FTP) issues.
- Secure a valid driver’s license.